Linux performance still a let down on desktop.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snowdog

[H]F Junkie
I am not talking about the small market share.

I am talking about how poorly it does simply things like drag a window across the screen.

I have been using Linux for 20+ years. I first tried slackware from a stack of floppies I copied at my universities computer room in 1994. I have used it at work as a workstation OS (RHEL which sucked). I set up LAMP servers for Drupal at work as well (where it is actually good). And I have lost count how many times I have installed it at home hoping the desktop experience has improved, only to be continually let down.

It has been a couple of years since my last disappointment with Ubuntu. In the interim I have been hearing the Linux fans claiming it was now better than Windows. But I have heard that repeated in the past so I was in no hurry to be disappointed again.

But recently I cleaned up the insides of my old PC and found a place for another HD. So the perfect time to try another install. Mint seems very popular, so I installed Mint Cinnamon 18.1.

I guess I shouldn't be surprised that it is just as much disappointment as Ubuntu was a couple of years ago.

Dragging my browser window across the screen, was a jerky mess, when it is glass smooth on Windows 7.

Next I switched my DE to Xfce, noted for being "light weight". Not as bad as Cinnamon, but nowhere close to Windows 7.

Next I switched my DE to Lxde, note for being even "Lighter weight". Much closer to, but still not quite as good as Windows 7, but it would be good enough if not for:

Edge corruption while dragging. While cinnamon moved in jumps and jerks, it seemed to draw the whole image, but Xfce/Lxde, seemed to start drawing one edge, give up part way and start drawing the next.

Meanwhile, back in "bloated" Windows 7 completely smooth, fast and clean. Putting even Lxde to shame.