Finally took the laptop plunge

zandor

Supreme [H]ardness
After finishing college with a CS degree & working in IT for 8 years as a Java developer I've finally taken the lappy plunge in style (to the tune of about $3000). Bloody expensive, but anything less than a dual core & 2GB ram sucks for J2EE development.
Up until now I've been a monster desktop builder (last 3 machines were duallies w/ SCSI), and this will be my first laptop. At least I'll be able to write off most of it as a business expense now that I'm an independant contractor. Have to pay my own health insurance too, but I can deduct that as well. :) I'm planning on going to law school next fall (hence getting a tablet instead of a 17" desktop replacement machine) and I really hate my current job (gave notice yesterday... woot!) so I took a contract position. Catch is no one ever has decent equipment, and I'll probably be doing a couple more contracts before dropping out of the workforce for a while. I figure a development grade machine bought today should still be good enough for writing papers and taking notes in 4 years, so I just went ahead & got the 4 year warranty extension.

I know you guys want specs, so here goes:
Toshiba Tecra M7 tablet
14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) screen
Core Duo 2500 (2.0 GHz)
2GB DDR2 667MHz Ram
80GB 7200rpm HD (bums wanted another $120 for the 100GB.. grr)
NVidia Quadro NVS 110M graphics (128MB dedicated + up to 128MB shared)
DVD +/-RW
Intel 802.11 wireless... forget if it's a/b/g or just b/g
Bluetooth

woah, congrats, that is an awesome lappy....

I love my laptop and i'm sure you'll love yours as well... these things really are awesome

rayman2k2 said:
wow! that's really nice! how much does it weigh?