AMD Talks Radeon FreeSync on TVs with PCPer

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Ryan and Antal sit down and shoot the bull about FreeSync usage on TVs. Variable Refresh Rates on an open platform are a thing of the future....hopefully. The biggest problem with VRR is the fact that until you see it and use it in person, it is very hard to appreciate just how big a deal VRR is. Same thing with HDR. You have to see it to understand it.

Check out the video.

Interested in new gaming displays? Interested in new gaming displays that can also do HDR? Then you are going to want to watch our live stream with AMD about its plans for the future of FreeSync. AMD will be discusses changes to FreeSync at our event, with maybe an additional surprise or two along the way.

I wasn't impressed with VRR, but I probably didn't give it an adequate trial. I've been using 3 Monoprice 30" 2560x1600 IPS screens for a few years. I tried replacing them with 3 Viewsonic 27" 2560x1440 VA Gsync monitors, but 2 of the 3 showed up with broken panels. I tested the unbroken one, and it looked fantastic, beating the pants off IPS on black levels. I was playing Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, which was pretty much always running 60FPS on my Monoprice screen. Other than improved blacks, it wasn't noticeably better on the Viewsonic at higher refresh with Gsync. If I'd tried a game that wasn't already running 60FPS for me, I might have seen a difference.

HDR can look great on my TV, but I've noticed the shows that use it like to overuse it and blind me.

All I really want is 30" OLED 16x10 (4K or 2K) monitors with 120 Hz refresh, with at least 2 DP inputs that can be switched via remote control. Is that so difficult?

I love the fact that an open variable refresh standard may actually be taking off for real.