Need headphone recommendation - primarily for gaming and ~$150

PoweredBySoy

2[H]4U
I've been using those Bose Triports ($140) for about the past 3 years now, and I've gone through multiple pairs. Problem is they have shitty build quality and often break or just fall apart. Now the cushioning on my latest pair is falling off, and I'm ready to move on to something else. What I really liked about them though is they are lightweight and comfortable.

So I'm looking for some recommendation for replacement headphones. As stated in the title they'll mainly be used for PC gaming 95% of the time, via an Audigy X-fi soundcard. What I need is the following:

• Around $150. No more than $200.
  • Circumaural design that fits over my entire ear, not on it.
  • Closed. The wife is often in the office with me, and she doesn't need to be hearing me kill zombies
  • Comfort.
  • Good all-around sound.

Thanks, duders.

I love me Sennheiser eh2200s, but they're only in the $50-80 range, not $150-200.

I have a pair of Bose Triports and had the exact same problem with mine (they lasted around 4 years by virtue of a lot of electrical tape and careful handling) and I finally the cushioning started peeling and getting nasty for no apparent reason.

I'd say the eh2200s provide much better sound than the TriPorts ever did, as well as having a nicer (and removable/replaceable) cord and being far less expensive, retail.

Considering your current expectations, I'd go for $50-60 for a pair of eh2200s and be happy. You can always sell them for a minor ($10-15) loss if you decide you don't like them and get something else, but I suspect you will be thrilled.

Unfortunately finding a pair can be very difficult right now.

Another thing to consider would be the Sony MDR-V600 around $100-150.

When i was looking for a pair of headphones for the exact same things you are i decided on the ATH A900's

Best headphones ever

go with them you won't be disapointed