Buying Core i3 6100 vs Core i3 7100 ? Which should i buy ? Same price.

Plainman

Limp Gawd
Hi Guys,

Buying a Core i3 6100 vs Core i3 7100 ? Which one would be a better buy if the price was the same. Hardly $3 difference. I was thinking of going for the 7100 as any layman would but i read faintly remember reading somewhere that the 7100 doesnt play well with Windows 7 64bit.

My main tasks are medium video editing, some basic 3ds max and maybe if it can i would like to play some 3d games (im a newbie gamer).

Any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks

i3 7100 obviously.

It's clocked 200mhz higher and it got IGP decode for 4K.

And why dont you upgrade to Windows 10 for free. The issue is that Microsoft doesn´t support newer hardware on obsolete OS platforms without support.

Let's just say, It's not worth the hassle of getting it to run on anything newer than a Haswell.

Hi Guys,

Buying a Core i3 6100 vs Core i3 7100 ? Which one would be a better buy if the price was the same. Hardly $3 difference. I was thinking of going for the 7100 as any layman would but i read faintly remember reading somewhere that the 7100 doesnt play well with Windows 7 64bit.

My main tasks are medium video editing, some basic 3ds max and maybe if it can i would like to play some 3d games (im a newbie gamer).

Any suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks

Why not wait until 5 october and get the new i3 8xxx with 4 cores iso 2 for approx the same money?

I can only use windows 7 64 bit because im running custom designed software with hardcoded dongles for it and that software works only with win7. Stage lighting software. Its locked to the dongle and the 3d visualizers etc. If i upgrade then ill have to pay that company a lot of money to get a new version with new light control interface hardware etc.

There are 2 updates you can avoid that cause new CPUs not to get updates on Windows 7.

Basically you should try to do the following: