HDR local dimming issues with 7900xtx?

Wag

[H]ard|Gawd
I just started playing Hogwarts, and it's really the first game I've sat down and played on my newish 7900xtx. First thing I noticed was that there was some kind of HDR dimming issue, where the whole screen would continuously get brighter/darker/brighter/darker. I've found a few reddit posts with people on the AMD 6xxx series of cards with exactly the same issue (I'll try and find the video of it).

I'm wondering if it's some compatibility issue with my display (Aorus FV43U) and Freesync Pro? I just purchased a certified DP 2.1 cable- still doing it. As it is now HDR is unusable. Pervious 2080Ti had no issues with HDR whatsoever.

Edit- I think I just answered my own question:

https://www.displayninja.com/what-is-freesync-brightness-flickering/

Good article. Funny, it must be an issue my particular display is having with the card. Anyone else have similar problems?

Last edited:
Haven't noticed any flickering, I'm not sure what to look for though. Would it be obvious? I'm currently playing through the Halo Infinite campaign, HDR is absolutely stunning in this title.

https://www.rtings.com/monitor/reviews/gigabyte/aorus-fv43u

If that's your monitor it's likely the local dimming that's the issue. Could be wrong but if you're playing something it's trying to locally dim quickly it'll probably give poor results. Try shutting the dimming feature off and see if it still works. I would imagine there's a lot of star field like scenarios like casting spells that would cause it to freak out.

Last edited:
I just started playing Hogwarts, and it's really the first game I've sat down and played on my newish 7900xtx. First thing I noticed was that there was some kind of HDR dimming issue, where the whole screen would continuously get brighter/darker/brighter/darker. I've found a few reddit posts with people on the AMD 6xxx series of cards with exactly the same issue (I'll try and find the video of it).